Gameboy macro TV out via USB C

tl;dr

someone awhile ago asked me if it was possible to have TV out via the USB C port so that you would only need one cable coming out the Gameboy macro to charge it and for TV out. Join me below to see how I pulled it off.

Hardware

  • USB C 12 pin port female x2
  • RCA female port x2
  • 5.1K resistors x4
  • USB C 6 pin port female x1
  • M3 hex bolts 6mm x2

If you didn’t already knew you can mod a DS lite and make it do video out. I’ve wrote a blog post with all the details on how to pull this mod off. All this was possible by the amazing people over at Lost Nintendo History

To pull this off I knew I had to abuse the USB C standard. I originally was going to use the SBU1 and SBU2 pins A8 B8 on the 12 pin USB C USB 2 port I found, That didn’t work out so I decided to use the D+ D- pins A6 A7 instead. I had to make a custom USB C charging port for the DS lite to replace the original port. There wasn’t much space to play with and I had to add 2 extra pads to boot, One of the video and one for the Left sound channel. Unfortunately I wouldn’t break out stereo sound because I only had 2 free pins. Ive made a USB C charging port for the ds lite which fits flush with the shell but that used the 6 pin port, Since I was switching to the the 12 pin port it now stuck out from the shell slightly.

After getting the DS side of things sorted out I knew I needed a PCB/box that would breakout the video and sound and also adding the charging into the same cable. The custom PCB breakout board I had the same 12 pin USB C port and another 6 pin USB C port just for power. For the video and sound I used 2 RCA ports one yellow and one red. I 3d printed a shell of the custom break out PCB to give it a more professional feel.

Files

https://github.com/facelesstech/gameboy_macro_tv_out_usb_c

Video

One response to “Gameboy macro TV out via USB C”

Leave a comment