Gameboy wifi printer

tl;dr

A friend asked me to make them a gameboy printer after seeing my one I had made for myself. I thought I would have written it up on here but turns out I didn’t so I’m going to fix that. I also fixed some of the things I didn’t like in my first version, Join me below to see what I improved.

Hardware

Ive used the TP4056+10A45 board I made in a previous blog post because its lower power, I used a vape battery I recycled because I have a tone to use. You have to be careful using vape battery’s with this board because it doesn’t have any discharge protection so you will need to use one of these boards with it so bare that in mind.

I used a separate 3 pin switch and removed the one off the tp4056+10A45 board and wired it up the same way so It would work as it did before.

The way I did the gb link port was to put it into the 3d printed shell then slide it thought the cutout then slide in the port packing piece in behind to secure it in place.

You probably could use a different dev board for this but I’ve used the Nodemcu in the past so I know it works and has enough flash storage.

Software

First things first you will need to flash the firmware onto your dev board. This firmware I found has some amazing features. Start by ether cloning the repo or downloading the code as a zip. They have written a great beginners guild to get you started with installing the arduino IDE and installing the ESP8266 board librarys.

The only part that tripped me up was downloading the “ESP8266 sketch date upload” part, I found that the script to download the data didn’t work on linux so I just downloaded it manually by paste this following link into your browser to download the zip file. https://github.com/HerrZatacke/gb-printer-web/releases/latest/download/data_w.zip unzip the folder and rename it to “w” then move it to “/wifi-gbp-emulator/wifi-gbp-emulator/data/” reload your arduion IDE then upload the file using “ESP8266 sketch date upload” under the tools tab.

Once you have uploaded the code you can test to see if it worked by plugging it in then pressing the reset button, the LED should ether flash on/off , then press the reset button again and it should have a solid LED. You will also want to make sure you uploaded the extra files by connecting your laptop/phone/tablet to the printer in hotspot mode (flashing led) with password “gameboyprinter”, once connected put this URL Into your browser “192.168.4.1” you will ether get the printer home page or a page that telling you haven’t uploaded the extra data. If all is well we can move on to wiring up the GB link port.

Follow the wiring guild shown above, You only need to connect the 5 wires. Then when done you just need to connect your gameboy link cable and put the printer into print mode (solid LED) and it should print, If it doesn’t double check your wiring.

Features

There are some amazing features in this firmware, I will tell you about my favour feature. I love taking colour photos with the gameboy camera, To do this you have to take 3 (Red, Green, Blue) photos ether lighting the scene up with LED’s or using colour filters. Once you have taken the photos you need to print them to your wifi printer. Next switch to wifi mode and import your photos. Switch to the gallery view then hit the button below

The next screen you will need to select the right colour for each photo so if you used a red filter for select the red dot next to that photo then do the rest for the green and blue. It will give you a blended “colour” photo you can save and download right in your browser, So much easier then using Gimp/photoshop.

Video

Files

3d print files – https://www.printables.com/model/893552-gameboy-wifi-printer

TP4056+10A45 board files – https://github.com/facelesstech/tp4056-10A45

One response to “Gameboy wifi printer”

Leave a comment